Ballot Information

CALS APC 2013 Ballot Information

This year, Academic Planning Council members are being elected from the divisions of Natural Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences. These newly elected members will serve on the Academic Planning Council for three years beginning in the fall of 2013.

All CALS faculty may vote in the Natural Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences divisions. Each faculty member may vote for one candidate in each division.

The candidates by division are:

Natural Sciences Physical Sciences Social Sciences

Current Council Membership



Ken Raffa, Entomology

Ken Raffa has been a professor of entomology at the UW-Madison since 1985. He was a member of the CALS Research Advisory Committee from 1992-1995. He has also served on the CALS Master Plan Oversight, Biotron, CIAS Steering, CALS Instructional Greenhouse, UW Biological Sciences Division Strategic Planning Executive, CALS Undergraduate Honors, CALS Spitze, and UW Undergraduate Hilldale Award Committees, in addition to serving on the Faculty Senate and Chancellor’s Speakers Bureau. He has received internal recognition through the Pound Research, Spitze Land Grant Faculty, and Kellett Mid-Career Researcher Awards. He received the Samuel C. Johnson Distinguished Fellowship in 1999, was named a Vilas Associate in 2000, and received the Beers-Bascom Professorship in Conservation in 2010. On the national scale he has received the Entomological Society of America Founders Award, the International Society of Chemical Ecology Silverstein-Simeone Lecture Award, and has been named a Fellow of the Entomological Society of America.



Sundaram Gunasekaran, Biological Systems Engineering

Sundaram Gunasekaran is a professor of food and bioprocess engineering. He graduated form the University of Illinois and was an assistant professor at the University of Delaware before joining the UW-Madison in 1989. His current research interests are in applying biosensing and nanotechnology for food material quality and safety. Gunasekaran is a Fulbright Scholar and a Fellow of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. He has also received the US President’s Volunteer Service Award. At the Campus level, Gunasekaran is the current Chair of the Kemper K. Knapp Bequest Committee and has served on the Physical Sciences Divisional Executive Committee, the University Committee on Honorary Degrees, and the Faculty Senate. He is a member of the College of Engineering Engineer’s Day Committee. He was a member of the CALS Research Advisory Committee, Greenhouse/Plant Growth Facilities Committee. Gunasekaran actively participates in NSF/USDA/DOE grants program review panels and serves as an external examiner for several international institutions.



Leann Tigges, Community and Environmental Sociology

Leann Tigges has been faculty at UW since 1993. She received tenure in 1996 and was promoted to full professor in 2002. She is an affiliate of the Institute for Research on Poverty, Development Studies Program, and the department of Gender and Women’s Studies. Her research and teaching are in the areas of labor market inequalities and economic change. Tigges has served on many university and college committees including the University Faculty Senate and Committee on Committees. Her roles within CALS include service on the Research Advisory Committee and the Scholastic Policies and Action Committee, and she was “director of faculty development” for CALS from 2008-2009. Tigges was chair of her department from 2005-2008 and from 2012-2013. She has a broad view of the social sciences and the college.